I went to Petra and Wadi Rum in Jordan with the hiking group Finjan. We walked around the ancient city of Petra and also did some hiking along the ‘back country trail’. As we made stops on the way, I did some quick sketches in my notebook.  The following sketch shows many caves in the rocks, giving a feel of a city.

petra

We climbed 1500 stairs to go to a monastery. The place was built by the Nabateans and used by the Byzantines as a monastery, hence the name. The sketch below shows the place from which we arrived to the opening with the monastery. The 1500 stairs are on the other side.

monastery

The next sketch is from Wadi Rum, where the sand is very red. As our group was taking a tea break, I did this quick sketch. I did not have the time to draw the two camels which were resting in the foreground. I also don’t have practice sketching people and animals en plein air.

wadirum